Understanding Florida’s legal drinking age is essential when it comes to hosting a party, going to a bar, or spending time at an establishment where alcohol is served.
Florida is similar to other states when it comes to its legal drinking age.
The legal drinking age in Florida is 21 years old or above. This means anyone over the age of 21 can serve or drink alcohol in the state of Florida. Those who are under this age will be charged as it is illegal for those under the age of 21 to consume, serve, or buy alcohol.
It’s important to be aware of these details before you consider drinking in the state of Florida. If charged, this can lead to serious punishment.
This article will look at the legal drinking age in Florida.
What’s The Legal Drinking Age In Florida?
The legal drinking age is set at 21 years old or above in the state of Florida. This means those residing in the state of Florida cannot serve, consume, or buy alcohol under the age of 21.
There are strict restrictions associated with underage drinking in Florida.
If caught, this can lead to serious punishment both for those who are serving the alcohol and those who are buying it.
To figure out an individual’s age, the establishment has to ask for an ID.
This has to be a valid ID that illustrates your birth date. This will help verify whether or not you are eligible to buy alcohol.
Drinking Laws In Florida
Let’s dig deeper into the drinking laws in Florida.
Florida drinking laws state a person has to be 21 or older to drink. This is commonly seen throughout the US as a federal requirement.
Along with this, Florida has stricter regulations compared to some other states when it comes to what’s permitted privately.
For example, a minor cannot drink alcohol privately at home even if a parent/guardian is nearby. This is illegal and can lead to charges for those who are serving alcohol.
In other states, it is possible to drink privately. A good example would be the drinking regulations in Puerto Rico where this is permitted.
It’s important to note you can also get punished for being aware of alcohol within a setting when you’re under the age of 21.
This means knowing there is alcohol on-site and hosting a party with underage people. If the minors start drinking during the party, this will be seen as the hosting being aware of its presence and allowing a way for the minors to drink alcohol.
Of course, general possession can also lead to charges in the state of Florida.
This means if you are caught with alcohol in your possession, this is going to be seen as you breaking the law.
Underage Drinking In Florida
Underage drinking is not permitted in Florida.
Anyone that is under the age of 21 cannot start drinking in Florida and will be charged. This is going to be a misdemeanor charge and does come with serious consequences depending on how many times you have been charged.
Punishment For Underage Drinking In Florida
What is the punishment for drinking as a minor in Florida?
Minors that end up drinking in Florida can end up with underage possession. This means having to spend time in prison (2 months) and paying a fine.
Those who get charged a second time will see a longer prison sentence.
It is important to note there are similar charges for those who are selling alcohol to minors in Florida.
It’s essential to read through Florida drinking laws to make sure you are abiding by them when in-state.
The legal drinking age in Florida is 21 years old, which means anyone above the age of 21 can drink alcohol or serve it. Those who are underage cannot do so and will be handed a misdemeanor charge if they are caught with possession of alcohol.
It’s highly recommended to keep your valid ID on hand when going to a bar or visiting a club. This will keep you safe if you are above the age limit.
Amanda Harper is a travel enthusiast with 10+ years of traveling experience across the planet. Her passion for writing and travel makes her a walking bibliography on modern-day tourism.