The drinking laws changed in New York during the 80s.
At the time, a 19-year-old could purchase alcohol without being stopped but changes were developed as other states changed their laws around the same time.
This created a situation where the goal was to increase the legal drinking age in New York.
The legal drinking age in New York is 21 years old and this is similar to other states in America. It’s important to note, there are fines and community service penalties associated with underage drinking in New York.
These rules are designed for not only those who are going to be drinking but also those who are serving alcohol in New York.
This article will help take a detailed assessment of the New York drinking laws and what is permitted.
What’s The Legal Drinking Age In New York?
The legal drinking age in New York is set at 21 years old. This means anyone above the age of 21 is allowed to purchase alcohol in the state of New York. The same applies to those who are going to be serving alcohol.
Establishments such as bars or liquor stores are required to ask for a valid ID when selling alcohol to young adults.
This ensures anyone that who is purchasing alcohol in New York is above the age of 21.
Punishments are associated with those who participate in underage drinking or sell alcohol to minors in New York.
It’s imperative to keep your ID on you as a young adult when the goal is to buy alcohol.
Drinking Laws In New York
The drinking laws in New York are focused on the age of the individual selling or purchasing alcohol. In general, anyone 21 years old or above will be allowed to sell or buy alcohol. Those who are under this age are deemed to be “underage” and not allowed to purchase or sell alcohol in the state of New York.
The state also has stringent laws when it comes to drinking under the influence.
This can lead to additional charges including time in prison depending on the severity of the DUI.
This is why it’s important to follow the laws and make sure you are not drinking under the influence and/or a minor drinking alcohol.
Underage Drinking In New York
Underage drinking in New York refers to anyone that is under the age of 21 and purchasing alcohol. This is deemed to be illegal in the state of New York and comes with consequences.
It’s common for establishments to have the age limit listed where the alcohol is being sold. It’s essential to be aware of this as there are strict consequences for both parties involved in the transaction.
This means the establishment selling the alcohol to a minor in New York is going to get charged along with the individual.
Punishment For Underage Drinking In New York
What is the punishment for underage drinking in New York?
This is going to depend on whether or not this is a person’s first offense. Assuming it is your first offense, the punishment is likely going to be a fine that is less than $1,000 and community service. Please note that this can vary depending on additional charges that are laid due to this.
The same applies to those who sell alcohol to those who are underage in New York.
This can also lead to a fine and/or community service in New York.
These are the drinking laws in New York that you will want to consider in greater detail.
The legal drinking age is set at 21 years old in the state of New York. It’s important for individuals that are looking to purchase alcohol in New York to have an ID ready to go. This should be a valid ID showcasing your birth date.
Establishments in the state of New York will inquire about a person’s ID when they are selling alcohol to them.
Amanda Harper is a travel enthusiast with 10+ years of traveling experience across the planet. Her passion for writing and travel makes her a walking bibliography on modern-day tourism.